Item added to your cart.

DJ​-​Kicks: Leon Vynehall
Leon Vynehall
!K7 Records
Catalogue Number
Release Date
February 1, 2019

First to take the reins of the DJ-Kicks mix series in 2019 will be ever evolving UK artist, Leon Vynehall. His 26-track mix features new material from the man himself, as well as exclusives by Hessle Audio and Timedance affiliate, Ploy, rising newcomer Peach, and Pavilion. What’s more it features a number of gems that will be available digitally for the first time ever from the likes of Bourbonese Qualk, The Bygraves, Degrees Of Freedom, Ellen Fullman, Crinan, Primitive and Haroumi Hosono`s ‘Rose & Beast’.

In a short space of time, Leon Vynehall has established himself as a DJ and producer with real craft. He brings a much wider than usual array of skills and influences to electronic music. His comprehensive approach was confirmed by his spellbinding debut album Nothing Is Still on Ninja Tune in June 2018 which received widespread critical acclaim with Resident Advisor saying "On Nothing Is Still [Leon Vynehall] takes a huge step forwards" and was just awarded Mojo’s ‘Electronic Album of the Year’ as well as featuring in the Top 15 Albums of the Year from Rough Trade. Told through multiple mediums, Nothing is Still was made up of the story of his grandparents`; emigration from the UK to New York throughout the 1960s, it told a distinctive story that unfolded into a resonant narrative; a richly layered affair filled with curveballs and a wealth of adventurous ideas that Vynehall pulled off with confidence and style. The album has since evolved into a live entity of its own with rapturously received full band and orchestra shows across the world.

It’s the same open minded approach with his DJs sets, and particularly this DJ-Kicks mix, which goes from 79-169bpm in fluid fashion - always distinctly diverse both in genre and tempo, the mix works in a range of settings, as was the artist’s aim. “I wanted to approach this more like a compilation than a stand-alone ‘mix,’” Vynehall says. “To me, compiling a DJ-Kicks is a significant statement of intent and representation, so with that in mind, I thought more about the selection than the mix. Being given the responsibility to select work from artists I admire, some of which have only ever been released on their first vinyl presses many years ago, was a task I didn’t take lightly.” Even with curation taking pride of place here, the mixing is still seamless with some fearless transitions. Tracks are given the respect and time they need to resonate, adding up to something with a coherent beginning, middle, and end.

For the mix, Vynehall begins with his own piece of shimmering abstract ambience, and builds through modern dancehall, chugging EBM, to cult underground Mancunian street soul. From there the mix takes a more punk edge and tougher approach, before switching up with some irresistible two step swagger and dreamy melodic breakbeats that will loosen the limbs, finally ramping up through new and old school jungle, and rhythmically inventive drum acrobatics. The final word comes in the form of a beautifully pensive piano piece from Robert Haigh that makes a real mark. Once again here, Vynehall goes above and beyond to deliver something that doesn’t seem possible on paper, yet executes it with such skill as to make it utterly essential.

Digital Tracklist

  1. 1 Who Loved Before Leon Vynehall 2:02 Buy

    Who Loved Before

  2. 2 Genie Kemikal 2:59 Buy


  3. 3 Giant Bitmap Tomaga 5:11 Buy

    Giant Bitmap

  4. 4 Loopy De Fabriek 2:15 Buy


  5. 5 Rose & Beast (薔薇と野獣 ) Haruomi Hosono 4:32 Buy

    Rose & Beast (薔薇と野獣 )

  6. 6 Force To dgoHn 5:03 Buy

    Force To

  7. 7 Set Me Free The Bygraves 5:26 Buy

    Set Me Free

  8. 8 August Is An Angel Degrees Of Freedom 4:31 Buy

    August Is An Angel

  9. 9 Over And Under Ellen Fullman 1:31 Buy

    Over And Under

  10. 10 Moving Forward Bourbonese Qualk 5:12 Buy

    Moving Forward

Show All Tracks 24

Track List: CD

  1. Leon Vynehall - Who Loved Before
  2. Kemikal - Genie
  3. Tomaga - Giant Bitmap
  4. De Fabriek - Loopy
  5. Haruomi Hosono - Rose & Beast (薔薇と野獣 )
  6. dgoHn - Force To
  7. The Bygraves - Set Me Free
  8. Degrees Of Freedom - August Is An Angel
  9. Ellen Fullman - Over And Under
  10. Bourbonese Qualk - Moving Forward
  11. Shamos - Nuws
  12. Genesis P. Orridge & Dave Ball - Sex & The Married Frog
  13. Run Dust - Full Slice
  14. DJ Zozi - Mellow Vibe
  15. RAC - Fushigi
  16. Primitive - Lapis Lazuli B2
  17. Crinan - Kilimanjaro
  18. Ploy - Pressure
  19. Leon Vynehall - Ducee’s Drawbar (DJ-Kicks)
  20. Pavilion - Happy Track
  21. Peach - Faxing Jupiter
  22. Etch - Unsung Hero Of Irrelevance
  23. Mirage - Deep Rage
  24. AFX - Children Talking
  25. Jana Rush - Divine
  26. Robert Haigh - Music For Piano

Track List: LP

A1 Leon Vynehall - Who Loved Before
A2 Leon Vynehall - Ducee's Drawbar (DJ-Kicks)

B1 Ploy - Pressure
B2 Peach - Faxing Jupiter

C1 Pavilion - Happy Track
C2 Crinan - Kilimanjaro

D1 Aphex Twin - Children Talking
D2 Unknown Artist - Lapis Lazuli

--:-- --:--

Privacy Settings

This site uses cookies. For information, please read our cookies policy. Cookies Policy

Allow All
Manage Consent Preferences