Item added to your basket.

DJ-Kicks - Moodymann
Various Artists
!K7 Records
Catalogue Number
Release Date
19 February 2016

Following a year that saw the 50th entry in the long-running series released to wide acclaim, DJ-Kicks returns in 2016 another landmark edition. Iconic Detroit DJ and producer Moodymann is at the helm for his first ever multi-artist DJ mix compilation. Born Kenny Dixon Jr., Moodymann is a one-of-a-kind electronic music icon, hailing from, and wholly synonymous with the Motor City. He is an outspoken, impossibly charismatic artist who has been putting a distinctive and soulful stamp on house and techno since the early 90s. Melting together jazz, funk, soul, blues and rock in captivating ways, he is responsible for some of electronic music’s most definitive tracks, EPs and LPs on labels like Planet E, Peacefrog and his own KDJ and Mahogani Music imprints. As able to serve up the sweetest and most sensual sounds as he is the darkest and most depraved grooves, his own unique voice and stream of conscious musings infuse expertly sought-out samples for music that is decisively alive and authentic.

Across 75 minutes and 30 tracks, Moodymann does not disappoint: despite being a notorious vinyl fetishist, Dixon’s aim is to present music of quality, not to one-up fellow collectors. Rather than serving up ridiculously rare or hard-to-find records, he instead focuses on creating a libidinous, blues-drenched mood that takes in heart-breaking soul, gorgeous hip-hop and love-fuelled house. In addition to cuts from his own creative circle, the mix features 11 exclusive Moodymann edits. Like everything Kenny Dixon Jr. touches, DJ-Kicks showcases the taste, skill, and soul of a dance music original.

Read More
  1. 1 Where Will You Be 4:12 Yaw Buy
  2. 2 Serve This Royalty 5:42 Cody ChesnuTT Buy
  3. 3 Guttah Guttah 2:35 Dopehead Buy
  4. 4 Keepyourbusinesstoyourself 3:12 Jitwam Buy
  5. 5 Robot's Return (Modern Sleepover Part 2) 5:35 Talc Buy
  6. 6 When My Anger Starts To Cry 5:23 Beady Belle Buy
  7. 7 Kiss The Sky 3:38 Shawn Lee feat. Nino Moschella
  8. 8 BTSTU 3:33 Jai Paul
  9. 9 Tea Leaf Dancers 3:12 Flying Lotus feat. Andreya Triana
  10. 10 Les Nuits 3:42 Nightmares on Wax
Show All 31 Tracks
--:-- --:--

This site uses cookies. For information, please read our cookies policy.