Item added to your basket.

DJ-Kicks: Dam-Funk
!K7 Records
Catalogue Number
Release Date
27 May 2016

A lot of folks feel like they know DâM-FunK; he is laid-back, affable and personable but to truly get the guy, I mean really understand him, is to know a deep love of music like no other. A more suitable reflection of this is his contribution to the beloved DJ-Kicks series. A snapshot into the mind of the pioneer of Modern-Funk music…get to know the man behind the shades.

At a satisfying 19 songs, Dam lets grooves breath, this is a mix to happily get lost within. It’s a document in vibe. Unexpected contemporary joints from low-key producers like Henning and L33 mingle with lost gems from unlikely places. 80’s Fusion-Jazz guitarist Tony Palkovic on “True To Yourself” follow the the airy-burn of new-age ensemble Gaussian Curve’s “Broken Clouds” or the super rare bliss-Funk of “Theme From Beach Boy” from 1982. Dam’s excellent collaboration with Nite Jewel, as ‘Nite-Funk’ on “Can U Read Me?” is pure bliss and such a fantastic collaboration you’d be yearning for more., reminding listens that one of Dam’s biggest assists is his duality from master DJ to trend-setting producer. And we get this heavy on Dam’s DJ-Kicks exclusive “Believer”. Sheets of synth lines fall all around a locking drum program that starts off innocently enough but ends you in a half-hypnotic state. An extensive instrumental composition that on it’s own could only be classified as signature Modern-Funk. There may be a lot of folks dabbling but there really is only one Damon.

TRACKLISTING Moon B – Oof (mixed) Nicci Gable – Close To Who? (mixed) Verticle Lines – Theme From Beach Boy (mixed) Randell & Schippers – Love Jam (mixed) Brandon – Suzy Hijack (mixed) Take Three – Tonite’s The Night (All Right) (mixed) Index – Starlight (mixed) Uncle Jamm’s Army – Dial-A-Freak (mixed) Gemini – Log In (mixed) Nexus – Stand Up (Instrumental) (mixed) Reggie B – Poison Candy (mixed) L33 – Keeping It Tight (mixed) Gaussian Curve – Broken Clouds (mixed) Tony Palkovic – True To Yourself (mixed) Henning – Arrival / Departure (mixed) Nite-Funk – Can U Read Me? (mixed) DaM-FunK – Believer (mixed) True Design – I Wanna Break (mixed) Crystal Winds – Funk Ain’t Easy (mixed)

Read More
  1. 1 Oof Moon B 5:24
  2. 2 Close To Who? Nicci Gable 5:36 Buy
  3. 3 Theme From Beach Boy Verticle Lines 6:16 Buy
  4. 4 Love Jam Randell & Schippers 14:12 Buy
  5. 5 Suzy Hijack Brandon 6:37 Buy
  6. 6 Tonite's The Night (All Right) Take Three 7:22 Buy
  7. 7 Starlight Index 6:33 Buy
  8. 8 Dial-A-Freak Uncle Jamm's Army 6:31 Buy
  9. 9 Log In Gemini 5:47
  10. 10 Stand Up (Instrumental) Nexus 5:52
Show All 20 Tracks
--:-- --:--

This site uses cookies. For information, please read our cookies policy.