Item added to your cart.

DJ-Kicks: Apparat
!K7 Records
Catalogue Number
Release Date
October 22, 2010

Sasha Ring’s work under his Apparat moniker has always been evolving; over three albums on the Shitkatapult label and the collaborative full lengths with Ellen Allien and Modeselektor as Moderat on Bpitch Control, he’s surprised a lot of listeners with his output. Confined to little or no definitive style his music has always been in a constant state of metamorphosis, simultaneously breaching new waters and staying true to his unique spirit of musical openness and his obvious passion for sound design.

Aptly joking that his DJ KiCKs selection reflects his style to “not really have a style” it’s evident that Ring is more than aware that his contribution to the series might look ‘intelligent’ on paper – with the tracklist aligning variant artists like Oval, Autechre, Ripperton and Thom Yorke – but given his recent tour at the start of the year, it’s simply a representation of where he’s at in terms of modern music. “I didn’t want to make this kind of ‘smart’ mix, that’s eclectic and sounds like it’s done ‘on purpose;’ but I need to do different things to keep myself motivated,” Ring explains. “At first I wanted to make a collection of influences, all kinds of old songs but then sometimes with those mixes it’s hard to keep some kind of flow and they’re just not very easy to listen to, so I ended up using good new music; music that almost gave me hope that there’s more out there than boring minimal techno.” The Apparat contribution is as stylized as the preceding mixes in the series from Kode 9 and James Holden; with Ring embracing the opportunity to create a mix that represents both his personality and his brave take on ‘club’ music. With an incredibly prevalent talent for manipulation of both tempos and melodies, Ring includes tracks from a handful of dubstep producers like Dutch producer Martyn – whose ‘Miniluv’ provides a glorious rhythmic propulsion when under-layed beneath Patrice Baumel’s ‘Sub’ – and Ramadanman’s ‘Tempest’ – whose melody all but dissipates at the optimum moment – layering and blending them perfectly with tracks from across an array of genres from Autechre’s percussive white noise to Oval’s erratically colourful sound slices or the echoed clicks of Phon.o’s ‘Intervall.’

“A mix needs a bit of dynamic,’ he states. “There were these weirder things I wanted to use, like this Four Tet remix (of Born Ruffian’s ‘I Need A Life’) and then there are some tracks i had to use as tools to glue it all togehter. The way I used the Martyn track is more of a tool to adjust the Patrice Baumel track dynamically to the following ones. But most of the songs are in there for musical reasons. All these artists have their own sound signatures and manage to inject that space into every new song they produce.”

Achieving a sense of progression in the mix through both his selections and his awareness of sonic space, Ring manages to harness his enthusiasms for frequency perfect soundscapes, often creating moments of sheer beauty out of his polarized composite parts.

“The mix isn’t that balanced when it comes to melody I guess,” he continues, considering his point. “There’s a lot of sweetness on there, but it is dark and mysterious at points. I guess the bittersweet-ness has long been kind of my thing and with this mix I was just trying to spice it up a bit.”

Digital Tracklist

  1. 1 Circles (Unmixed) Apparat 2:54 Buy

    Circles (Unmixed)

  2. 2 Lengthening Shadows (Unmixed) Telefon Tel Aviv 4:19 Buy

    Lengthening Shadows (Unmixed)

  3. 3 Legendary (Unmixed) oval 0:51 Buy

    Legendary (Unmixed)

  4. 4 Tower Block (Unmixed) Cosmin TRG 5:40 Buy

    Tower Block (Unmixed)

  5. 5 Falling (Autechre "FR 13" Remix (Unmixed)) Scorn 10:18 Buy

    Falling (Autechre "FR 13" Remix (Unmixed))

  6. 6 I Need A Life (Four Tet Remix (Unmixed)) Born Ruffians 8:26 Buy

    I Need A Life (Four Tet Remix (Unmixed))

  7. 7 Intervall (Unmixed) Phon.o 4:45 Buy

    Intervall (Unmixed)

  8. 8 The Madness Of Moths (Unmixed) Vincent Markowski 3:46 Buy

    The Madness Of Moths (Unmixed)

  9. 9 Tempest (Unmixed) Ramadanman 7:02 Buy

    Tempest (Unmixed)

  10. 10 Lesser People (Unmixed) Spherix 5:14 Buy

    Lesser People (Unmixed)

  11. 11 TV Power (Unmixed) oval 1:00 Buy

    TV Power (Unmixed)

  12. 12 The Shrew Would Have Cushioned The Blow (Unmixed) Joy Orbison 5:47 Buy

    The Shrew Would Have Cushioned The Blow (Unmixed)

  13. 13 Sayulita (DJ-KiCKS (Unmixed)) Apparat 5:57 Buy

    Sayulita (DJ-KiCKS (Unmixed))

  14. 14 Worn Down (Unmixed) T++ 7:27
  15. 15 Apparat DJ-KiCKS Mix Apparat 68:05

Track List: CD

  1. Circles 02:54
  2. Telefon Tel Aviv - Lengthening Shadows 04:14
  3. Oval - Legendary 00:51
  4. Cosmin TRG - Tower Block 05:40
  5. Scorn - Falling (Autechre "FR 13" Remix) 10:18
  6. Born Ruffians - I Need A Life (Four Tet Remix) 08:26
  7. Phon.o - Intervall 04:45
  8. Vincent Markowski - The Madness Of Moths 03:46
  9. Ramadanman - Tempest 07:02
  10. Spherix - Lesser People 05:08
  11. Oval - TV Power 01:00
  12. Joy Orbison - The Shrew Would Have Cushioned The Blow 05:47
  13. Sayulita 05:57
  14. T++ - Worn Down 07:27
  15. Apparat DJ-Kicks Mix 01:07:46

Track List: LP

A1 Luke Abbott – More Room
A2 Patrice Bäumel – Sub
A3 Ripperton – Echocity

B1 Cosmin TRG – Tower Block
B2 Pantha Du Prince – Welt Am Draht
B3 Born Ruffians – I Need A Life (Four Tet Remix)

C1 Vincent Markowski – The Madness Of Moths
C2 Ramadanman – Tempest
C3 Phon.o – Intervall

D1 Spherix – Lesser People
D2 Joy Orbison – The Shrew Would Have Cushioned The Blow
D3 Thom Yorke – Harrowdown Hill


--:-- --:--

Privacy Settings

This site uses cookies. For information, please read our cookies policy. Cookies Policy

Allow All
Manage Consent Preferences