Item added to your cart.

DJ-Kicks: Daniel Avery
Daniel Avery
!K7 Records
Catalogue Number
Release Date
November 11, 2016

“Electronic music is unique in that, whilst it has an immediate effect on the body, the culture surrounding it has the ability to run deep into your life. Whenever I’m in a club, I want to give myself up to music. This is the very thing that excites me the most. Witnessing a DJ create an atmosphere in a room from the ground up takes patience and effort from everyone present but when the pivotal moments hit, your watch stops ticking.” – Daniel Avery

It is this thinking which motivated and inspired the making of Avery’s entry into the treasured DJ-Kicks series, set for release on 11th November 2016 via !K7 Records and announced today alongside a striking animated visual from Kevin Freeney for ambient closing track ‘Space Echo’, the start of some long-awaited new material from Avery. Across its 78 minutes the mix creates a hypnotic space focusing on “music by like-minded souls” from the outer reaches of techno including international talents Svreca, Rrose, Artefakt and IORI. It is a mix concerned with the idea of taking a collective breath and allowing records their own space.

“The music that always hits hardest is what I’d consider to be unreal,” Avery notes, “something that sounds like it comes from another place entirely and moves at its own pace. I want to create those moments where opening your eyes on a dance floor becomes difficult. When the outside world is nothing more than a distant thought.”

The mix features three new original Avery productions including a track from Rote, a project with BleeD boss Volte-Face. It follows three years’ worth of studio experimentation in-between a life spent on the road touring the enormous success of debut record, Drone Logic, released in 2013 on Erol Alkan's wildly psychedelic Phantasy label.

With club culture again being attacked and many familiar nightlife institutions closing their doors, Avery is a strong proponent of its crucial role in society and remains encouraged by a current audience hungry for the new. "For me as a DJ it's the most exciting time I've lived through in over twelve years of doing this," he enthuses; "This is important to people; the noise from the world today is deafening. Looking out from the booth is a reminder that what we do together is worthwhile. This is worth fighting for.”

This DJ-Kicks album stands as a testament to the strength of the current state of affairs in underground electronic music, borne out of one of its most original talents.

Digital Tracklist

  1. 1 Soundscape 1 In Aeternam Vale 2:36 Buy

    Soundscape 1

  2. 2 Sensation (Rrose Remix) Daniel Avery 8:32 Buy

    Sensation (Rrose Remix)

  3. 3 Vertigo Shlømo 6:30 Buy


  4. 4 Dungeon Planetary Assault Systems 6:23 Buy


  5. 5 Hidden Document II (Svreca Remix) Ekserd 8:00 Buy

    Hidden Document II (Svreca Remix)

  6. 6 Untitled 3 (Modvs Remix) BLNDR 7:07 Buy

    Untitled 3 (Modvs Remix)

  7. 7 Stortorget Ulwhednar (Abdulla Rashim & Varg) 5:22 Buy


  8. 8 Capitulo 5 Reeko 6:41 Buy

    Capitulo 5

  9. 9 The Fifth Planet Artefakt 11:33 Buy

    The Fifth Planet

  10. 10 Donbelief Post Scriptum 5:15 Buy


Show All Tracks 18

Track List: LP

A1 Daniel Avery – A Mechanical Sky (DJ-Kicks)
A2 Daniel Avery – Space Echo

B1 Rote – Look In Your Eyes
B2 Ulwhednar – Stortorget
B3 In Aeternam Vale – Soundscape I

C1 JP Enfant – Sirens
C2 IORI* – Maya

D1 Reeko – Capitulo 5
D2 Slam – Cirklon Bells (Edit Select Remix)

Track List

  1. In Aeternam Vale – Soundscape I
  2. Daniel Avery – Sensation (Rrose Remix)
  3. Shlømo – Vertigo
  4. Planetary Assault Systems – Dungeon
  5. Ekserd – Hidden Document II (Svreca Remix)
  6. BLNDR – Untitled 3 (Modvs Remix)
  7. Ulwhednar –Stortorget
  8. Reeko – Capitulo 5
  9. Artefakt – The Fifth Planet
  10. Post Scriptum – Donbelief
  11. JP Enfant – Sirens
  12. Iori / Rote – Maya / Look In Your Eyes
  13. Lewis Fautzi – Blood
  14. Daniel Avery – A Mechanical Sky (DJ-Kicks)
  15. Slam – Cirklon Bells (Edit Select Remix)
  16. Daniel Avery – Space Echo
--:-- --:--

Privacy Settings

This site uses cookies. For information, please read our cookies policy. Cookies Policy

Allow All
Manage Consent Preferences