Item added to your cart.

DJ-Kicks: Stacey Pullen
Stacey Pullen
!K7 Records
Catalogue Number
Release Date
October 14, 1996

DJ and producer Stacey Pullen belongs – beside Juan Atkins and Derrick May – to the old Detroit elite. As a resident DJ he was spinning at the legendary “Music Institute” being the very epicentre of techno then.

Musically influenced by European electronic musicians like Kraftwerk or Brian Eno and his African roots Stacey Pullen developed a musical style in the mid-eighties which entered dance history as “Tribal-House”. Innovative DJs all over this planet were thrilled by his early productions under the akas of Kosmic Messenger, Bango and Silent Phase. His cooperations with Kevin Saunderson (Inner City’s “Praise” & “Follow Your Heart”) and Derrick May (Rhythim Is Rhythim) became classics among the “early sound of Detroit”. Releases on KMS, Plink Plonk and Transmat/R&S earned him lots of attention and respect over the last years. His fantastic – but strange enough undervalued – 1995 debut album “The Theory Of Silent Phase” became record of the month in the UK magazin “Muzik”, being the only magazin to recognize its appropriate value .

Stacey Pullen’s set on “DJ-Kicks” – marked by several back-spins – features beside his own classics 21 (!) inter-continental tracks of Kenny Larkin, Roy Davies, Christian Vogel, Sean Deason, Patrick Pulsinger, Acid Jesus and Sterac as well as tracks of well known labels like Peacefrog, +8, Tresor, Warp, R&S, Art Of Dance and Transmat. This program is supplemented by less known titles of I-Fach (Baby Ford), Daphreephunkateerz or Wulf-N-Bear which make “Stacey Pullen’s DJ-Kicks” a must for all Detroit-Techno-Heads.

Track List: CD

  1. Jibaros – Colora
  2. Mystic Rythem – Track Relaxer
  3. Kosmic Messenger – Eye to Eye
  4. The Kooky Scientist – Ram Bunctions
  5. Gerd – Arkest’s Blaze
  6. Ifach 001 – Dead Eye
  7. Wulf-N-Bear – Raptures of the Deep
  8. Phume – We R Walking
  9. Cristian Vogel – Bawdy
  10. Acid Jesus – Radium
  11. DIT – Try Out
  12. Kosmic Messenger – The Death March
  13. Vince Waston – Cosmic Journeys
  14. Kenny Larkin – Q
  15. Roy Davis – I’m tha DJ
  16. Sean Deason – The Shit
  17. Silent Phase – Psychotic Funk
  18. Daphreephunkateerz – Say it No Longer
  19. P.Pulsinger & E.Tunakan – Locked Groove
  20. Sensorama – Harz
  21. R-Tyme – R-Theme
  22. Digital Justice – Theme from Pear Shaped
  23. Gypsy – Funk de Fino
  24. Sterac – Astronotes Part 1
  25. Stacey Pullen – Dj-Kicks (the track)
--:-- --:--

Privacy Settings

This site uses cookies. For information, please read our cookies policy. Cookies Policy

Allow All
Manage Consent Preferences