Item added to your cart.

DJ-Kicks: Mr. Scruff
Mr. Scruff
!K7 Records
Catalogue Number
Release Date
March 27, 2020

DJ-kicks starts off its 25th year with Mr Scruff, a selector who’s been doing his thing for even longer. A true giant of the underground dance world and the original ‘Jazz Potato’ himself, his 31-track masterclass which includes one new and exclusive track, lands on March 27th. Spanning the decades like a funky timelord, Scruff brings some of the world’s best analogue and digital musicians together in a head-spinning melange – ably blending many varied elements into a nourishing whole.

The ever-cheery MC Kwasi opens proceedings, then it’s straight down to business with an ethereal number from Iona Fortune, before Equiknoxx and Black Pocket bring some percussion to the party, leaving the door ajar for Vernon Maytone, who slides in with a serious bit of dancehall business before the decidedly less serious vibes of Tiger’s classic ‘When’. Lingering in the shadows, DJ Nervoso’s nagging slo-mo take on Kuduro introduces Max Graef’s deliciously grainy Andreya Triana re-work. The sly, lop-sided acoustic vibes of Sudan Archives conclude the opening quarter. Emilio Santiago cheers things up with ‘Bananeira,‘ and fellow Brazilian Rosa Maria steams in with a frankly ridiculous funk-samba monster. That is followed by an unrecognisable Laurel Aitken, riding an afro-disco rhythm before New York based afrobeat outfit Antibalas burst through the fire exit with an elephantine horn section. They are happy to share percussion duties with the originator Tony Allen, who pops up for a cameo and is soon joined by Natural Self, who toughens things up further with the furtive, funereal funk of ‘The Sound’.

Dobie, Errorsmith and the exclusive cut from Mr. Scruff vs CyberPunkJazz (AKA 潘PAN) are oddball bangers. ‘3001 : A Space Disco Remix’ has been a staple in Mr Scruff’s recent DJ sets. He has this to say on it:

"There were some really fierce elements in the original version. 潘PAN’s vocal has a great tone, and the synth sounds are very aggressive. I knew that I could turn it into something very different, but still with an abrasive edge. I picked all the elements that I liked from the original, added a ton of other ingredients and created a mutant beast of a remix.”

Next up, Ding Dong’s rowdy ragga anthem rides over the industrial beats of Fats Comet. Enter Manc pioneer-of-weird Paddy Steer with his slightly woozy ‘Loufoque,’ and Andy Ash’s previously unreleased ‘Ease Yourself’, a left-footed, fluty stepper from the outer reaches of the smoking area. Next up is Scruff himself, supplying tough beats and urgent strings on ‘Where Am I?’ Max Graef appears again in a more familiar guise, dropping compressed, filtered b-boy house to keep up the pressure, before Andy swerves the obvious with a new-wave John Coltrane cover. It’s now back to 1984 with Hashim’s ‘We’re Rocking The Planet’. Zongamin, Bumcello and Archie Pelago pull us back towards the leftfield, before Seiji & Lyric L show up with the ever awesome ‘Loose Lips.‘ We’re then shoved aside for the veteran Essex DJ and percussionist Snowboy, and the carnival vibes continue, building to an exotic crescendo with a stomping tropical finale from North Wales’ finest Drymbago. The last word goes to Kwasi, bookending this snack-size Scruff session and thanking the appreciative crowd for the temporary loan of their wide-open ears.

Digital Tracklist

  1. 1 Da You Iona Fortune 5:02 Buy

    Da You

  2. 2 The Link Equiknoxx 3:30 Buy

    The Link

  3. 3 Thankyou and Credits Blackpocket 2:49 Buy

    Thankyou and Credits

  4. 4 Old Pan Sound Vernon Maytone 4:34
  5. 5 When (12? Mix) Tiger 5:45 Buy

    When (12? Mix)

  6. 6 Kuia DJ Nervoso 4:09 Buy


  7. 7 Gold (Max Graef Remix) Andreya Triana 3:36 Buy

    Gold (Max Graef Remix)

  8. 8 Wake Up Sudan Archives 2:37
  9. 9 Bananeira Emilio Santiago 2:51 Buy


  10. 10 Samba Maneiro Rosa Maria 2:53 Buy

    Samba Maneiro

Show All Tracks 32

Track List: LP

A1 Andreya Triana - Gold (Max Graef Remix)
A2 Sudan Archives - Wake Up
A3 Tiger - When
A4 Ding Dong - Badman Forward Badman Pull Up

B1 Mr Scruff Vs Cyberpunkjazz - 3001 A Space Disco Remix
B2 Max Graef - No 5

C1 Andy Ash - Ease Yourself
C2 Zongamin - Nonstop
C3 Alexander Robotnick Feat Stefano Cocco Cantini - Love Supreme (Extended)

D1 Drymbago - Chupacabra
D2 Paddy Steer - Loufoque
D3 Emilio Santiago - Bananeira
D4 Rosa Maria - Samba Minerio

Mr. Scruff

--:-- --:--

Privacy Settings

This site uses cookies. For information, please read our cookies policy. Cookies Policy

Allow All
Manage Consent Preferences