Item added to your cart.

DJ-Kicks: Michael Mayer
Michael Mayer
!K7 Records
Catalogue Number
Release Date
May 19, 2017

Following last year’s full-length LP, ‘&’, which saw him extensively collaborate with an impressive host of contemporaries and friends, including Joe Goddard, Prins Thomas and Agoria, Michael Mayer is set to contribute to the legendary DJ Kicks series. Spanning sixteen tracks, the mix finds Mayer is just as generous of a mood, composing a musical journey that spans his ever-expanding record collection, and above all, his defining instinct to share the beauty of music with others.

“Kicks has turned out to be a pretty international affair, especially if you compare it with Immer 1 or Fabric 13, which consisted almost 100% of German productions”, highlights Mayer. “At that time, there were such incredible things happening in my direct neighborhood and all over Germany. In the meantime, that spark has traveled a lot since then. The sound I've been pushing is often falsely described as "minimal". Minimal used to be a thing in the pre-Kompakt days, mid 90s. After that I took much more interest in an eclectic way of playing music.”

Alongside this consistent, all-embracing attitude to music, ‘emotive’ is still perhaps the term best associated with Mayer’s leanings as a DJ, and as the man himself once observed, “there is room on the dancefloor for emotions other than euphoria.” Certainly, DJ Kicks delivers on this expectation, balancing wistful passages with frequent bursts of high energy aimed squarely at the dancefloor.

Digital Tracklist

  1. 1 The Tape Is Chill Peter Zummo 5:54 Buy

    The Tape Is Chill

  2. 2 The Horn Conspiracy (DJ-Kicks) Michael Mayer 6:20 Buy

    The Horn Conspiracy (DJ-Kicks)

  3. 3 Papas Groove (doP & Masomenos Remix) Bvoice, Anrilov, Danilov 9:20 Buy

    Papas Groove (doP & Masomenos Remix)

  4. 4 The Darkness (I:Cube Remix) SAVE! 6:57
  5. 5 Feuerland Justus Köhncke 7:43 Buy


  6. 6 Honey (Michael Mayer Remix) CSS 5:40 Buy

    Honey (Michael Mayer Remix)

  7. 7 Gary Alter Ego 7:12
  8. 8 Apart (Michael Mayer Remix) Kasper Björke feat. Sisi Ey 8:36 Buy

    Apart (Michael Mayer Remix)

  9. 9 The Drift (Prins Thomas Diskomiks) Lionheart Brothers 11:29 Buy

    The Drift (Prins Thomas Diskomiks)

  10. 10 Please Stay (Röyksopp Remix) Mekon feat. Marc Almond 6:48
Show All Tracks 17

Track List: LP

A1 Throbbing Gristle – Hot On The Heels of Love (Ratcliffe Remix)
A2 Jon Hopkins – Abandon Window (Moderat Remix)

B1 Boreal* – Canopy Target
B2 Michael Mayer – The Horn Is Conspiracy Club Mix (DJ-Kicks)

C1 CSS – Honey (Michael Mayer Remix)
C2 Alter Ego – Gary

D1 Mekon Feat. Marc Almond – Please Stay (Röyksopp Remix)
D2 Dreems – Mirages (Michael Mayer Remix)

Track List: CD

1 Peter Zummo – The Tape Is Chill 2 Michael Mayer – The Horn Conspiracy (DJ-Kicks)
3 Bvoice*, Anrilov*, Danilov*– Papas Groove (doP & Masomenos Remix)
4 Save! – The Darkness (I:Cube Remix)
5 Justus Köhncke – Feuerland
6 CSS – Honey (Michael Mayer Remix)
7 Alter Ego – Gary
8 Kasper Bjørke – Apart (Michael Mayer Remix)
9 The Lionheart Brothers – The Drift (Prins Thomas Diskomiks)
10 Mekon – Please Stay (Röyksopp Remix)
11 Dreems – Mirages (Michael Mayer Remix)
12 Boreal* – Canopy Target 13 Throbbing Gristle – Hot On The Heels of Love (Ratcliffe Remix)
14 Death In Vegas – Consequences of Love (Chris & Cosey Remix)
15 Idioma – Landscapes 16 Jon Hopkins – Abandon Window (Moderat Remix)

Michael Mayer

--:-- --:--

Privacy Settings

This site uses cookies. For information, please read our cookies policy. Cookies Policy

Allow All
Manage Consent Preferences